Disclosure Details

Suspended Officers - 14/12

Dated: 07 Jun 2011

Date of request: 05/01/2012

Date of response: 13/01/2012

Provision of information held by Northumbria Police made under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (the 'Act')(FOIA)

Thank you for your email dated 5th January 2012 in which you made a request for access to certain information which may be held by Northumbria Police.

As you may be aware the purpose of the Act is to allow a general right of access to information held by a Public Authority (including the Police), subject to certain limitations and exemptions. 

You asked:

  1. As of 01.01.12 how many of your force’s officers were suspended on full pay?  Please provide me with a breakdown showing the number of officers suspended in each rank of your force as of 01.01.12. 

  2. Please also provide me with a list showing the date (month/year) that each officer suspended as of 01.01.12 was first suspended from duty on full pay.

  3. How many of the suspended officers as of 01.01.11 returned to work, were dismissed, resigned or are still suspended?

In response:

We have now had the opportunity to fully consider your request and I provide a response for your attention.

Following receipt of your request, searches were conducted with the Professional Standards Department of Northumbria Police.  I can confirm that the information you have requested is held by Northumbria Police.

1-2.  There were no suspensions as of 01/01/12.

3. This part of your request relates to your previous request FOI 10/11 in which 2 officers were recorded as suspended.  I can confirm that the Sergeant was dismissed and that the PC resigned.

The information we have supplied to you is likely to contain intellectual property rights of Northumbria Police.  Your use of the information must be strictly in accordance with the Copyright Designs and Patents Act 1988 (as amended) or such other applicable legislation.  In particular, you must not re-use this information for any commercial purpose.


How to complain

If you are unhappy with our decision or do not consider that we have handled your request properly and we are unable to resolve this issue informally, you are entitled to make a formal complaint to us under our complaints procedure which can be found at: http://www.northumbria.police.uk/foi/disclosurelog/foicomprights.asp

If you are still unhappy after we have investigated your complaint and reported to you the outcome, you may complain directly to the Information Commissioner’s Office and request that they investigate to ascertain whether we have dealt with your request in accordance with the Act.