Disclosure Details

Police National Computer Misuse - 184/12

Dated: 01 Mar 2012

Date of request: 13/01/2012

Date of response: 01/03/2012

Provision of information held by Northumbria Police made under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (the 'Act')(FOIA)

Thank you for your email dated 8th February 2012 in which you made a request for access to certain information which may be held by Northumbria Police.

As you may be aware the purpose of the Act is to allow a general right of access to information held by a Public Authority (including the Police), subject to certain limitations and exemptions.

You asked: 

  1. How many police officers or police staff have been reprimanded or sacked in your force between January 1st 2006 to February 13th 2012 for illegally accessing confidential information on the Police National Computer.

  2. Between January 1st 2006 to February 13th 2012 - how many complaints have been referred to the IPCC about police officers or police staff in your force illegally accessing information on the Police National Computer.

  3. Between January 1st 2006 to February 13th 2012 how many complaints have been made against police officers or police staff in your force in relation to illegally accessing information on the Police National Computer. 

In response:

We have now had the opportunity to fully consider your request and I provide a response for your attention.

Following receipt of your request, searches were conducted with the Professional Standards Department of Northumbria Police.  I can confirm that the information you have requested is held by Northumbria Police.

I have today decided to disclose the located information to you as follows.

The following information has been extracted from a Live database and may be subject to the addition and deletion of complaints, complainants and subjects after the initial extraction of data used for the purposes of this report. Data has been extracted based upon complaints attached to cases finalised between 01/01/2006 and 13/02/2012. Only information of the allegation type improper disclosure of information for complaints, breach type of confidentiality for conducts and confidentiality for misconducts has been included.

  1. 9

  2. None

  3. 4

The information we have supplied to you is likely to contain intellectual property rights of Northumbria Police.  Your use of the information must be strictly in accordance with the Copyright Designs and Patents Act 1988 (as amended) or such other applicable legislation.  In particular, you must not re-use this information for any commercial purpose.


How to complain

If you are unhappy with our decision or do not consider that we have handled your request properly and we are unable to resolve this issue informally, you are entitled to make a formal complaint to us under our complaints procedure which can be found at: http://www.northumbria.police.uk/foi/disclosurelog/foicomprights.asp

If you are still unhappy after we have investigated your complaint and reported to you the outcome, you may complain directly to the Information Commissioner’s Office and request that they investigate to ascertain whether we have dealt with your request in accordance with the Act.

Downloads

FOI Complaint Rights Procedure_tcm4-28029