Northumbria Police Area Commands

Northumbria Police provides a comprehensive policing service to communities across the North East via three Area Commands - Northern, Central and Southern.

Between them, they cover the local authority areas of Newcastle, Gateshead, South Tyneside, North Tyneside and Sunderland - which are all predominantly urban -  as well as Northumberland, which has both urban and rural areas.

Each area command has a Chief Superintendent who operates at a strategic level, working with partners, and is divided into policing sectors which have both response and neighbourhood policing teams.

Find out more on the 'Your Neighbourhood' pages